A Toast to Peace

50 States

Mark Koopmans is hosting 50 States of Pray, in the hopes of getting participants from all 50 U.S. states, and some foreign nation-states, to share a little thought, wish, and/or hope about the past and/or future. Though Christmas hasn’t been my holiday for many many years (don’t wish to get into the long story about my family or religious background!), it’s a really lovely sentiment.

When I think of hopes for the future, I often think of the beautiful Slovenian national anthem. I’ve always found it very moving how, unlike many other national anthems, the Slovenes didn’t choose something proclaiming their country as the best country in the world, or with military overtures. Instead, it’s all about peace.

It’s the seventh stanza of “Zdravljica” (“A Toast”), written by France Prešeren, Slovenia’s national poet:

Žive naj vsi narodi 
ki hrepene dočakat’ dan, 
da koder sonce hodi, 
prepir iz sveta bo pregnan, 
da rojak 
prost bo vsak, 
ne vrag, le sosed bo mejak! 

God’s blessing on all nations,
Who long and work for that bright day,
When o’er earth’s habitations
No war, no strife shall hold its sway;
Who long to see
That all people free
No more shall foes, but neighbours be!

This spirit of universal friendship was typified in the 1914 Christmas Truce, which sadly was never allowed to happen again. It was hard for these soldiers to go back to fighting after coming to see the other side as human beings, friends. I highly recommend the film Joyeux Noël to people of all faiths and nationalities. We all have it in us to break down the boxes and walls separating us, and to simply love one another as fellow Earthlings made in God’s image. I see myself as a citizen of Planet Earth first, and only then an American and a transplanted Pennsylvanian living in New York.

15 comments on “A Toast to Peace

  1. That’s a really awesome national anthem!

    Like

  2. Bish Denham says:

    What a beautiful anthem! And now I’m going to have to look up the movie on NetFlix. Thanks! Merry Christmas from Texas.

    Like

  3. Hello! Thank you for sharing this. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing. Have a blessed and peaceful season!
    Writer In Transit

    Like

  5. Arlee Bird says:

    I wish you many good things in your life. Have a great 2014.

    Lee

    Like

  6. Sharon says:

    I really like the national anthem. All the best in the coming year!

    Like

  7. BEAUTIFULLY SAID!!!!

    MERRY CHRISTMAS AND ALL THE BEST FOR THE NEW YEAR, CARRIE ANNE!!!!

    Like

  8. Bethie says:

    Wonderful post. I accidentally downloaded that movie one day. At first I was disappointed since it wasn’t what I’d planned and ended up watching it 4 times and crying each time. It is an awesome reminder of what can happen when we get to know someone BEFORE we decide to hate them.

    Like

  9. Mil Holmes says:

    Greetings. I like the national anthem. Will look up the movie. Though I think I might have seen it. Sounded familiar.

    Like

  10. Beautiful! Merry Christmas to you Carrie-Anne!

    Like

  11. suzanne says:

    Lovely words for a national anthem 🙂
    Suzanne @ Suzannes Tribe
    x

    Like

  12. hilarymb says:

    Hi Carrie-Anne .. the Slovenia National Anthem is incredible – I didn’t know about it … so it’s fascinating to read and to hear sung – then the photos of the country are amazing .. I’d love to visit one day.

    The concept of the 1914 warring factions on Christmas Day does always bring tears to my eyes ..

    Thanks for sharing both these with us .. peace on earth and blessings to one and all – Hilary

    Like

  13. I never heard of Slovenia’s National Anthem, but I think it’s wonderful.

    Have a great 2014!

    Like

  14. Thank you for brining the Slovenian anthem to us. You are right. It is all about connectedness and peace. What a wonderful example. Thank you. I couldn’t open the video but I am going to try again. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and are looking forward to a happy, peaceful and healthy new year.

    Like

  15. M. J. Joachim says:

    I love that movie! And your prayer is lovely! Best of the season to you!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

