What’s Up Wednesday

WUW

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly hop/meme with four simple headings. Anyone can write a post and add the link to Jaime’s blog.

What I’m Writing

Approaching the 523,000-word mark in my current WIP, and again moved up the chapter entitled “Answering the Call.” I retitled Chapter 66 “Somber Christmas,” which made it a lot shorter and more focused. Chapter 67 really will finally cover the enlistment of my young men. Also looking forward to my third fictionalized version of my ex’s Harpy mommy spending some time in jail for attempting to block her emotionally crippled mama’s boy from being drafted, and treasonously sassing the recruitment officer. So glad that woman isn’t my mother-in-law or any future children’s other grandma!

I got a little bit choked up when Fedya was saying goodbye to his parents and siblings on Christmas night (7 January, per Russian Orthodox custom), no one knowing when or if they’ll ever meet again. My big choking-up moment will probably come later, though, perhaps in the chapter that closes Part III, “Bittersweet Reunion,” or “A Friend Is a Friend,” when one of my Marines loses an arm at Saipan while protecting his best friend. I might get emotional too when midwife Mrs. Kuzmitch delivers her last baby, the firstborn of Oliivia and Osyenka, in 1946 before retiring.

What I’m Reading

Primarily class readings.

What Inspires Me

I’ve finally started to do some pretty decent parallel-parks when coming home at night! When you have no choice but to do something, you have to learn to do it instead of finding ways around it or whining about it.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I got a 95 and 90 on my most recent papers for Academic Libraries, and a 14 out of 15 on the Organization of Information midterm. Hopefully I’ve done well on the recent midterm and latest paper for Archives and Records Management.

My new roommate has started moving in, and it’s so nice to live with someone much more compatible, laid-back, and liberal about kosher. My ex-roommate doesn’t really seem to want to be happy at this point in her life, but if she gets to a more emotionally, mentally, and psychologically stable place, I think she’d be happiest in a place like Oregon or Vancouver. She’d be among a lot of other crunchier than thou zealots, and could pontificate to her heart’s content about the horrors of plastic, aluminium, non-stick, Lysol, toxic chemicals, germs, ticks, modern Western medicine, blood, microwaves, and non-kosher.

IMG_1684

IMG_1685

IMG_1688

These were the second half of the mushrooms I cut up for my pirogi. It’s a mushroom-lover’s paradise to see that many delicious mushroom slices in a big skillet, all for you and no one else, with still plenty left over for more pirogi or lasagna, or perhaps an omelette.

IMG_1689

One side was my best dippy egg to date; the other yolk was a little less dippy. Practice makes perfect.

IMG_1694

Scrambled eggs with my new magenta/hot pink scraper. They turned out amazingly well. The trick to making perfect scrambled eggs is to just use eggs, not water them down with milk, butter, water, or anything else. I also used olive oil in lieu of my vegan butter for skillet grease.

IMG_1682

I had to have these when I saw they were not only on sale, but purple. My first time using the big Santoku knife while slicing up mushrooms, I shechted (sliced) my right index finger. At least there are no serrations to mess me up. I’m still looking ahead to eventually getting a left-handed bread knife, with the serrations on the correct side.

I’ve been making a lot of eggs, often on English muffins with hummus, spinach, tomatoes, and/or tempeh. Very filling and delicious, and so easy to make. My new roommate doesn’t really keep much kosher, but I’m so used to sharing living space with non-kosher people. As long as we use our own dishes, utensils, and cookware, I’m okay with it. I’m just glad I’m now in a position to control more of my own menu, and thus move closer towards veganism or stricter vegetarianism.

5 comments on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. […] What’s Up Wednesday post is here and my Horny Hump Day post is […]

    Like

  2. all those food pics are making my mouth water! glad your new roommate is working out, things can get tense when it doesn’t love your Halloween theme btw!

    Like

  3. katyupperman says:

    Your eggs are so pretty and perfect — jealous! I loved learning more about your WiP and characters in today’s writing section. Sounds like such an epic story, Carrie-Anne! Best of luck as you continue writing. 🙂

    Like

  4. Ron Smith says:

    Those mushrooms look delicious. I love pirogis.

    Congrats on the Papers, Carrie-Anne.

    Fun blog you have.

    Like

  5. Miss Cole says:

    ….I’m so hungry!!!!

    Yeah, living in the UK means parallel parking is unavoidable. That’s why smaller cars are a must. My itty bitty Toyota is so easy to park ^_^

    Grow, wordcount, grow! Getting emotional about your characters means you’ve gotta be doing it right.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

