What’s Up Wednesday

Ready Set Write

As part of their What’s Up Wednesday feature, Elodie NowodazkijAlison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, and Jaime Morrow will be hosting a summer-long initiative called Ready. Set. Write! Participants will share weekly, monthly, or overall goals in the “What I’m Writing” section of the weekly posts.

What I’m Writing

Once again, due to camp and other factors, I wasn’t as productive with writing this week as in the past. I’m up to about 445,600 words in my current WIP, Journey Through a Dark Forest. In spots, I’m really feeling that this is a rough draft and will need some more polishing or fleshing-out, alternately. The most important thing is just to get the meat and outline of the story down on paper.

I’m starting Chapter 55, “Damir’s Best Interests,” in late June 1940. Inna Zhirinovskaya is about to have her first child, by her deposed prince husband Arkadiy (Arkasha) Orlov. Since they’ve made their home in Persia (officially renamed Iran by this point), they’re going to give him a Persian name, Omid, which means “hope.” Shortly after the birth, Inna’s brother Vitya will finally head off for America with his daughter Velira. They’re going to fly in a real aeroplane, to avoid the slowness and uncertainty of taking a boat in wartime.

I’m really looking forward to writing the second-chance love story of Inessa and Vitya. Inessa has been wetnursing and raising Vitya’s son Damir since he was four months old, and Damir has no memories of his birth mother. Her three children by her murdered husband Roman deserve a father, Vitya’s cute, sweet little daughter Velira deserves a mother, and Damir shouldn’t have to lose the only mother he can remember. It’s the most natural thing in the world for them to create a new family when they think they’re only transitioning Damir away from his foster family and to his birth father.

And to think, my outline for this book in 2001 had poor Vitya getting shot in the 1937 purges! I’m so glad I let the story and characters go where they naturally developed, instead of feeling bound to what I’d envisioned at 21.

What I’m Reading

Three Daves, by Nicki Elson. It’s a fun, cute contemporary historical set in the 1980s, in the New Adult and romance categories. I originally got it for my Kindle for a group project on NA in my YA Lit class, but I didn’t have enough time to read the whole thing. Now I’m reading it while my campers are taking their afternoon nap. A Kindle is so much more convenient to read from than lugging around a real book.

What Inspires Me/What Else I’ve Been Up To

Still no stove or sink to work with. This is freaking ridiculous. It should never take nearly this long to kosher a kitchen and get everything in order. This type of thing should always be organized in advance, not only looked into after you’ve moved in.

I’m also finally resuming my Estonian study. The power of the human brain and the processes of language acquisition, retention, and retrieval are very powerful, inspiring things. Since I didn’t practice in awhile, I initially had forgotten some words and phrases I’d known cold not so long ago. But as I kept reviewing the material, the memory connections were reforged. Other words and phrases I had never forgotten, even some rather random words.

You can never really forget a language, even if you become very rusty and don’t use a language in years, even your own native language. Sure you might need some time to review and become fluent or conversational again, but the memories are still there. For example, I studied Spanish for 7 years and haven’t actively used it for some time. But when I read something in Spanish, or review vocabulary and grammar, something clicks and a lot more words come flooding back. It’s not like you go back to learning from scratch. The same goes for reactivating my Russian, German, Italian, or French, or relearning the Armenian alphabet for the 4th or 5th time. You knew it once, and it’s stayed in the recesses of your memory in spite of not constantly using the information.

My roommate overheard me and thought I were practicing Klingon. She’d honestly never heard of Estonia or Estonian. The two sound absolutely nothing alike. Estonian has a soft, musical, poetic lilt with a twinge of sadness, while Klingon is said to have been based on the sounds of Turkish and Mongolian, to give it that harsh, threatening feel.

13 comments on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. […] My What’s Up Wednesday post is here. […]

    Like

  2. Alison Miller says:

    “The most important thing is just to get the meat and outline of the story down on paper.” AGREED. That’s what I keep telling myself with this draft – just get it down. 🙂

    Also, I’m sending lots of positive thoughts that you will get your stove this week! And 6000 words is awesome! I know it’s not your usual level of productivity, but that word count is inspiring! I hope you have a great week!

    Like

  3. Stephanie Scott says:

    I’m so impressed by your retention of languages–and dedication to keeping up with them. I learned spanish but it faltered in college; I really wish things had worked out differently with my schedule and I’d stuck with Spanish as a minor. It would have been helpful at work too.

    I hope you’re enjoying camp!

    Like

  4. kate scott says:

    I’m seriously impressed/jealous by your language ability. Foreign language was my worst subject in school and I’m pretty sure I truly have forgotten all of it.

    Like

  5. Patrice says:

    I get you about the langauge learning, I studied French for over 7 years then stopped but I remember it when I read it or am writing in it (although some brushing up for speaking wouldn’t hurt). Congrats on the writing so far and good luck with future goals 🙂

    Like

  6. Miss Cole says:

    Estonian, wow! You’ve inspired me to attempt to relearn Spanish. I haven’t studied it in about 11 years.

    Sometimes characters have a way of destroying your plans and doing their own things. That’s a part of writing I love the most.

    Like

  7. That would be cool if you spoke Klingon though.
    Cool you’re reading Nicki’s book.

    Like

  8. laboyden says:

    445,600 words. holy cow! Good luck with finishing. thanks for sharing.

    Like

  9. I’ve heard of Estonia! We have a lot of door to door salesman from there. Sounds like you’re making great progress in your WIP, that’s awesome! Keep it up!

    Like

  10. “The most important thing is just to get the meat and outline of the story down on paper.” <– For some reason, this is very hard for me to remember when I'm first-drafting. But yes… SO important! Let's worry about the details later. Hope you have a good writing week, Carrie-Anne!

    Like

  11. Julie Luek says:

    I love how much joy you take in writing and how you get lost in your own story and characters.. a true writer’s heart.

    Like

  12. denizb33 says:

    Aww, I hope the kitchen issues get resolved soon!
    Love the idea of a second chance love story 🙂

    Like

  13. tara tyler says:

    wow! so much going on!
    sorry about your appliances. what a pain!
    three daves wad grest! i love nicki =)
    and i hope i can go abroad to use my spanish some day. thats where it really comes back!
    have fun at camp!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

